Gautam Gambhir Picks His 'Best' Indian Team For T20 World Cup 2022; Leaves Out Pant & DK! - Cricketnmore

1 week ago 78

After an early exit in the T20 World Cup 2021, team India would be looking to leave no stone unturned to turn the results around in the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia. With the recently concluded IPL 2022 and India's home T20I series against South Africa, a lot of players are strengthening their contention for the T20 World Cup while some of the 'regular' players failed to perform to the expectations. 

Amidst every cricket fan and expert naming players that should surely represent team India in the upcoming T20 World Cup, former Indian player and two-time World Cup winner, Gautam Gambhir has named his ideal XI team India for the upcoming World Cup. 


While most of the names are regulars and are expected to be surely in the team, a few names are missing which may shock the cricket fans. Explosive wicket-keeper batter Rishabh Pant hasn't been included in the XI. This is understandable since the southpaw has failed to perform for team India in T20Is, and has failed to produce a single impactful knock in 42 innings. Pant has scored 741 runs at an average of 23.15 with an ordinary strike rate of 123.91.

However, the missing name which may shock everyone is the 'Comeback' man Dinesh Karthik. Karthik was assigned the role of a finisher by Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2022, and smacked 330 runs in 16 innings, averaging 55 at an impressive strike rate of 183.33. Karthik continued his form as he struck at 158.62 in 4 innings, remaining unbeaten 2 times in the 5-match T20I series against South Africa. 

In the absence of Dinesh Karthik & Rishabh Pant, Gambhir has handed the wicket-keeping responsibility to KL Rahul. It is interesting since Ishan Kishan has also been named in the team as an opener, usually a spot where KL Rahul plays, and Kishan hasn't been named as a wicket-keeper. 

Also Read: Scorecard

Gautam Gambhir's Playing XI for Team India In T20 World Cup 2022. 

Rohit Sharma (C), Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul (WK), Hardik Pandya, Deepak Hooda, Harshal Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah.


Win Big, Make Your Cricket Prediction Now

Read Entire Article