‘We must have six to eight retentions’ - Harsha Bhogle agrees with Venky Mysore’s opinion on IPL retention

3 weeks ago 120

The 17th edition of the IPL (Indian Premier League) has ended with the Shreyas Iyer-led Kolkata Knight Riders emerging as the champions of the marquee event. With the end of the 2024 edition, the franchises will already have started their preparations for the 18th edition of the tournament. 

It is worth noting that ahead of the IPL 2025, there will be a mega auction in place for the 18th edition of the competition. Each team will be given limited retention options, with the remaining players returning to the auction pool.

Ahead of the auction, cricket commentator Harsha Bhogle came forward to talk about the event. Opining that the teams should be given the option to retain six to eight players instead of the usual four. Furthermore, he asked for the team’s right to retain their scouted stars. 

“If we can retain the sanctity of the purse I think we must have six to eight retentions I don't mind that at all. Venky Mysore of KKR has come up with a very workable suggestion which is that you should be allowed to retain players if they have a fair market value so say no retentions but eight right-to-match cards. I know that'll change the auction dynamics enormously but that's something worth considering,” Bhogle said in a video on his YouTube channel.

Harsha Bhogle picks his IPL 2024 team of the tournament

With the conclusion of the IPL 2024, Harsha Bhogle recently came forward to name the 11 players that he thought were the best performers in the 17th edition of the tournament. With four foreigners in the side, Bhogle picked the likes of Virat Kohli, Sunil Narine, Sanju Samson, and many more stars in his best XI.

It is worth noting that Virat Kohli finished as the leading run-getter of the IPL 2024, whereas Riyan Parag had a breakout season with Rajasthan Royals.

Bhogle’s best XI:

Virat Kohli, Sunil Narine, Sanju Samson, Riyan Parag, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik, Jasprit Bumrah, Varun Chakaravarthy, Trent Boult, T Natarajan.

Read Entire Article